UNGA 2020

Goals House @ UNGA

Sunday 20th – Friday 25th September 2020

Join us. RSVP essential: joingoalshouse@freuds.com

UNGA 2020

Goals House returns for UNGA Week from Sunday, September 20th to Friday, September 25th.

This year Project Everyone and freuds are partnering with Soho House to host a week-long series of events in London, New York and Berlin, with satellite events in Abu Dhabi and Kigali.

Discussions centre around the key themes of the Global Goals, including: how to disrupt global hunger, tech and innovation, the great green reset, clean water and sanitation, restoring the oceans and breaking the barriers to women’s health.

All events will be streamed virtually on goalshouse.com.

RSVP to joingoalshouse@freuds.com for details of how to attend or stream live, and follow us for instant updates on Instagram at @goalshouse or on LinkedIn at @goalshouses.

Sunday 20th September

#BLM – The Movement of our Generation

09:30 EDT | 14:30 BST | 15:30 CEST | 17:30 GST

Moderated by Afua Hirsch, Writer, Author, TV presenter, Documentary maker, and former barrister

Lewis Hamilton, Six-Time Formula One World Champion

Sadiq Khan, Mayor of London

Basma Khalifa, Director, Filmmaker, Writer and Fashion Stylist

Investing in Africa’s Female Future

11:00 EDT | 16:00 BST | 17:00 CEST | 21:00 GST

Moderated by Ross Kempsell, Special Correspondent for Times Radio with

Rt Hon Elizabeth Truss MP, the UK Secretary of State for International Trade and Minister for Women

Nimco Ali OBE, Social activist and Founder of The Five Foundation

Georgina Campbell, Head of Climacell.org

Representatives from Ghana and ECO Bank

Re-thinking and Re-building a Sustainable Fashion Industry

12:30 EDT | 17:30 BST | 18:30 CEST | 20:30 GST

Moderated by Sarah Kent, Senior Correspondent (Sustainability), Business of Fashion

Caroline Rush, CEO British Fashion Council

Cigdem Kurtulus, CMO - RB, Hygiene Business - UK & Ireland

Gail Gallie, Co-Founder, Project Everyone (and Founder of the Fashion Avengers)

Maria Srivastava, Chief Impact and Communications Officer, Pangaia

A Night in With Dazed

15:00 EDT | 20:00 BST | 21:00 CEST

Dazed presents Ramla Ali, Boxer & Model in conversation with Thomas Gorton, Group Digital Editor at Dazed

Monday 21st September

Scaling innovations to disrupt global hunger

07:00 EDT | 12:00 BST | 13:00 CEST

Bayly Mattes, Director EMEA Equality Programs, Salesforce

Bernhard Kowatsch, Head of Innovation Accelerator, World Food Programme

Jeffrey Oatham, Director of CSR & Sustainability, Delivery Hero

Joyce Shen, Investment & Operating Partner, Tenfore Holdings and Lecturer, UC Berkeley

Saswati Bora, Head of Food Systems Innovation, World Economic Forum

Sustainable Innovation for the SDGs

08:30 EDT | 13:30 BST | 14:30 CEST | 16:30 GST

Rowan Barnett, Head of Google.org EMEA & APAC, Google.org

John Blood, Chief Legal and Corporate Affairs Officer, AB InBev

Vera Hahn, SVP Head of Corporate Sustainability, Bayer

Dr. Fitsum Assefa Adela, Minister of Planning and Development Commission, Ethiopia

Data is the new oil? – and other thoughts

10:00 EDT | 15:00 BST | 16:00 CEST | 18:00 GST

Hosted by Commvault with

Abhijit Sunil, Analyst at Forrester Research

Chris Powell, Chief Marketing Officer, Commvault

Damian Bradfield, President of WeTransfer

Michelle Lancaster, Director, Sustainability Engagement and Partnerships at Microsoft

Harnessing the power of Science, Technology and Innovation to achieve the SDGs

11:30 EDT | 16:30 BST | 17:30 CEST | 19:30 GST

In partnership with the Islamic Development Bank, Bayer, Google.org

Moderated by Jessica Espey, Senior Advisor to SDSN and Director of SDSN TReNDS

Dr Hayat Sindi, Senior Advisor to the President, IsDB

Jacquelline Fuller, VP, Google and President of Google.org

Matthias Berninger, Public Affairs, Science and Sustainability, Bayer AG

Building Cohesion in Diversity: Challenges and Opportunities

13:00 EDT | 18:00 BST | 19:00 CEST | 21:00 GST

Sawsan Chebli, State Secretary for Federal Affairs, Berlin

Antonio Lucio, Global Chief Marketing Officer, Facebook

Misan Harriman, Photographer and Founder of Founder of What We Seee

June Sarpong, Broadcaster & Director of Creative Diversity at the BB

Project Everyone & freuds invite you to Sustainable Innovation for the SDGs

20:00 CEST

A dinner and discussion exploring how we can gain the momentum that we need to meet the SDGs by 2030.

Tuesday 22nd September

Breaking Barriers for Women’s Health

09:30 EDT | 14:30 BST | 15:30 CEST | 17:30 GST

Moderated by Tania Bryer, Broadcaster, Moderator, CNBC

Vera Hahn, SVP Head of Corporate Sustainability at Bayer

Natalia Vodianova, Model & Philanthropist and founder of Flo Health

Mariarosa Cutillo, Director of Strategic Partnerships, UNFPA

Patricia O’Hayer, Global Head of Communications and Global Policy, RB

Tech and Innovation for Sustainable Development

08:00 PT | 11:00 EDT | 16:00 BST | 17:00 CEST | 19:00 GST | 23:00 CST

Moderated by Nick Thompson, Editor in Chief of WIRED with

HE Dr Tariq bin Hendi, Director General, Abu Dhabi Investment Office

Stasia Mitchell, EY Global Entrepreneurship Leader, EY Private

Hanan Harhara Al Yafei, CEO of Hub71

Kai Fu Lee, Chairman and CEO of Sinovation Ventures, AI leader and MBZUAI board member

Clean Water and Sanitation Saves Lives

12:30 EST | 17:30 BST | 18:30 CEST | 20:30 CST

Hosted by AB InBev and Water.org

Moderated by Matt Mace, Content Editor, Edie

Ezgi Barcenas, Global VP of Sustainability, AB InBev

Mai-Lan Ha, Senior Advisor, UNGC CEO Water Mandate

Alice Moore, Global Category Director at Harpic, RB

Gary White, CEO & Co-Founder, Water.org & WaterEquity

30% by 2030 I Restoring our oceans to slow climate change

14:00 EST | 19:00 BST | 20:00 CST

Hosted and Moderated by Elsa Palanza, Global Head of Sustainability & ESG at Barclays

Peter Thomson, UN Secretary - General's Special Envoy for the Ocean

Professor Callum Roberts, Professor of Marine Conservation at the University of Exeter

Professor Carlos M Duarte, Biological and Environmental Science and Engineering Division at King Abdullah University of Science and Technology

Shaha Hashim, Maldives Project Manager, Blue Marine Foundation

Wednesday 23rd September

The Great Green Reset: Rebuilding Sustainably

09:30 EDT | 14:30 BST | 15:30 CEST | 17:30 GST

Moderated by Dan Murphy, CNBC Correspondent and Business News Anchor with

HE Awaidha Murshed Ali Al-Marar, Chairman, Abu Dhabi Department of Energy

Vivian Schiller, Executive Director, Aspen Digital

HE Dr Shaikha Salem Al Dhaheri, Secretary General of the Abu Dhabi Environment Agency

A Panel out of our Kigali Hub

In talks with Senior Representatives from the Rwandan Government, more information to follow

100 Heads: portraits of refugees for social change

12:00 EDT | 16:00 BST | 17:00 CEST | 19:00 GST

Hosted by Marc Quinn with

Adiam Yemane, from Eritrea

Ahmed Mohammed, from Nigeria

Moderated by Emma Freud

Dine with Purpose panel & Dinner

14:00 - 15:30 EDT | 19:00 - 20:30 BST | 20:00 - 21:30 CEST

Hosted by AB InBev and the UN World Food Programme with

Dr Ute Klamert, Assistant Executive Director, UN World Food Programme

Rebecca Marmot, Chief Sustainability Officer, Unilever

Tony Milikin, Chief Procurement and Sustainability Officer, AB InBev

Vivek Bapat, Senior Vice President, Purpose and Brand Experience, SAP

And a discussion between

Sabrina Dhowre Elba, Actress, Model and United Nations' IFAD Goodwill Ambassador

Sara Mbago-Bhunu, Agricultural Economist and Director of IFAD's East and Southern Africa Division

Thursday 24th September

Will the Global Pandemic Fast-Track the HealthTech Revolution? Live from Abu Dhabi

9.30 EDT | 14:30 BST | 15:30 CEST | 17:30 GST

Moderated by John Defterios, CNN International with

Bernardo Mariano Júnior, Chief Information Officer of The World Health Organisation

Patricia O’Hayer, Global Head of Communications and Public Affairs at RB

Ashish Koshy, CEO of G42 Healthcare

Dr. Farida Al Hosani, Director of the Comunicable Diseases Department, Abu Dhabi Department of Health

Women and girls, connected: Tech for gender equality

11:00 EDT | 16:00 BST | 17:00 CEST | 19:00 GST

Moderated by Deborah Joseph, Editor in Chief of Glamour with

Nimco Ali OBE, Social activist and Founder of The Five Foundation

Jessica Posner Odede, CEO of Girl Effect

Patricia Obo-Nai, CEO of Vodafone Ghana

Andrew Dunnett, Group Director, SDGs, Sustainable Business and Foundations, Vodafone

Creativity & Recovery: The Healing Power of Arts after Trauma & Conflict

12:30 EDT | 17:30 BST | 18:30 CEST | 20:30 GST

A UN75 Moderated Dialogue with

Fady Jameel, President, International, Community Jameel (Chair)

Danielle Olsen, International Cultural Producer, Wellcome Trust

Christopher Bailey, Arts & Health Lead, World Health Organization

Hannah Rose Thomas, Artist

Dr Maher Nawaf, Director, Yazda UK and board member for Yazda Global

Antonella Caruso, Founder, LAMEDINA Institute and ex-Director of Middle East and Western Asia Division, Department of Political Affairs, United Nations

The Global Goals are in Business: 10 years to go

14:00 EDT | 19:00 BST | 20:00 CEST | 22:00 GST

Moderated by Gail Gallie, Co-Founder of Project Everyone and evening hosted by The Business Avengers with

Richard Curtis, Writer, Director and UN Sustainable Development Goals Advocate

Alan Jope, Unilever CEO

Halla Tomasdottir, B Team CEO

Bethel Tadesse, activist and founder of Hidden Scars

Friday 25th September

Leaders for a Sustainable Future

9.30 EDT | 14:30 BST | 15:30 CEST | 17:30 GST

Moderated by Tina Brown, Award-Winning Journalist, Author and Editor, with

Anne Finucane, Vice Chair, Bank of America and Chair, Bank of America Europe,

Ruth Porat, Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of Alphabet and Google

Mary Robinson, Former President of Ireland and Chair Of The Elders

Culture through Covid: Fireside

10.00 EDT | 15.00 BST | 16.00 CEST | 18.00 GST

Fireside discussion between HE Mohamed Khalifa Al Mubarak, Chairman of the Department of Culture and Tourism, Abu Dhabi & Dr. Tristram Hunt, Director of the V&A

Is there an economic silver lining to this crisis?

11:00 EDT | 16:00 BST | 17:00 CEST | 19:00 GST

Moderated by Billy Nauman, Producer of Moral Money, FT with

H.E. Dr. Bandar Hajjar, President of the Islamic Development Bank

Brian O’Hanlon, Executive Director, The Rocky Mountain Institute’s Center For Climate-Aligned Finance

Delilah Rothenberg, Founder and Executive Director of The Predistribution Initiative

Jaakko Kooroshy, Head of Sustainable Investment Data and Methodologies, FTSE Russell

Dame Elizabeth Corley, Chair, Impact Investing Institute

Embracing Circularity and Social Impact

12:30 EDT | 17:30 BST | 18:30 CEST | 20:30 GST

Kate Robertson, Co-founder, One Young World (moderator)

Ezekiel Chisenga Sekele, Director of Corporate Affairs, AB InBev - Zambia

Siphokazi Mthathi, Executive Director, Oxfam South Africa

Ashish Gadnis, Co-Founder and CEO, BanQu Inc

Followed by a

Fireside Chat and One Young World Announcement with Maisie Devine, Global Director, 100+ Accelerator, AB InBev

2019 events

UNGA House 2019 hosted a series of high-profile events and discussions set in New York’s iconic Central Park.

The Great Green Wall: A Wall To Unite a screening with Academy Award nominated producer Fernando Meirelles hosted by UNCCD Executive Secretary Ibrahim Thiaw, Juergen Voegele, Global Director of Climate Change at The World Bank, Colleen Vien, Sustainability Director, Timberland with live music for Waje, Songhoy Blues and Ricky Kej.

Opening nightcap hosted by Richard Curtis and Trisha Shetty.

The Future Present is Female: how women are key to achieving Global Goal 3 a discussion hosted by Michael Sneed, Executive Vice President Johnson & Johnson, hosted by Samantha Barry, Editor, Glamour US with Amika George, Amani al-Khatahtbeh, Angeli Achrekar and Flaviana Matata.

‘Our Blood’ - A preview of the artwork - a collaborative sculpture raising awareness of the global refugee crisis - hosted by Marc Quinn, David Miliband and Trudie Styler.

“From Insight to Impact: how can we channel the world’s information to help solve the world’s challenges?” a breakfast discussion with Gillian Tett, FT, Paul Todd, CEO GLG, Guillermo Miranda, IBM, Tony Milikin, AB InBev and Katie Barton, EY.

The BCIU reception in support of the Organisation of African First Ladies for Development hosted a discussion of universal healthcare with H.E. Mrs Jeannette Kagame, First Lady of the Republic of Rwanda, First Lady of the Republic of Zimbabwe, H.E. Mrs Monica Geingos, First Lady of the Republic of Namibia and S.E. Mme Denise Nyakeru Tshisekedi, Première Dame de la République Démocratique du Congo.

The Exponential Climate Action Roadmap Reception - a guide to catalysing action on the climate crisis, with a discussion of the role the digital revolution can play in halving Greenhouse Gas Emissions by 2030 hosted by Prof Johan Rockstrom, Gail Gallie, Suzanne DiBanca and Commvault.

The (RED) Bank of America Club Lounge - with Woody Harrelson and Ben Stiller.

The Islamic Development Bank and Whitaker Peace and Development Initiative with Forrest Whitaker hosted a discussion on youth innovation.

Haus of Fin Tech hosted a working session about FinTech’s role in delivering Goal 17 with leaders across industries sharing bold ideas over how financial services and technology can be central to facilitating future progress.

2019 events

World Food Programme Breakfast Panel explored how the creative and entertainment community can play a vital role in communicating hunger and global issues with Corinne Woods, Taleb Brahim, Katy Loria and Pranav Yadab.

ZSL x The FT host a breakfast discussion between Billy Nauman, FT Moral Money and Dr. Gitanjali Bhattacharya, ZSL focussed on innovative financing as a tool for mobilising finance to achieve the Global Goals.

Future of Leadership panel hosted by the Wall Street Journal and reception with Alan Jope, CEO, Unilever.

Project Everyone hosted the ‘Business Avengers’ dinner with Richard Curtis and businesses including Mars, RB, Salesforce, Google, Nike, Diageo, Unilever, Coca Cola, Mastercard, Microsoft, ARM and SAP.

Are we washing our hands of Girls' Futures: Toilets will transform the world hosted by RB, water.org and Global Citizen with the Governor of Lagos, Babajide Sanwo-Olu with Kevin Rudd, Trisha Shetty, DJ Cuppy, Karin Krchnak, Jenifer Colpas, Falana and Gary White.

2020: Decade of Delivery nightcap hosted by Project Everyone with Meg Ryan.

Sustainable Fashion and the Goals - A panel hosted by Deborah Joseph, Editor, Glamour UK with Rachelle Hruska, CEO and Founder, Lingua Franca; Eva Kruse, CEO and President, Global Fashion Agenda; Hana Kajimura, Sustainability Manager, Allbirds.

‘Building a Movement for Zero Malaria’ panel with Malaria No More. Speakers included: Christoph Benn, (Asia Pacific Leaders Malaria Alliance, APLMA and M2030 Champions Council); Anna Easton, (Dentsu Aegis Network); Olivia Ngou, (CS4ME – Global Civil Society for Malaria Elimination); Xenya Scanlon, (RBM Partnership to End Malaria); Kate Wills, (Malaria No More) and moderated by Tania Bryer CNBC.

Community Jameel lunch to pioneer social change and lift communities out of poverty with Schmidt Futures, MIT, and The Rockefeller Foundation.

Making Psychedelic-Assisted Psychotherapy a Reality, What’s Next? Hosted by David Erritzoe, Imperial College London, Khaliya, Health Futurist and Co-Founder of Falkora, George Goldsmith CEO and Co-founder of Compass Pathways.